Labour laws enacted by Central Government and enforced by the State Governments

  1. The Employers’ Liability Act, 1938
  2. The Factories Act, 1948
  3. The Motor Transport Workers Act, 1961
  4. The Personal Injuries (Compensation Insurance) Act, 1963
  5. The Personal Injuries (Emergency Provisions) Act, 1962
  6. The Plantation Labour Act, 1951
  7. The Sales Promotion Employees (Conditions of Service) Act, 1976
  8. The Trade Unions Act, 1926
  9. The Weekly Holidays Act, 1942
  10. The Working Journalists and Other Newspapers Employees (Conditions of Service) and Miscellaneous Provisions Act, 1955
  11. The Workmen’s Compensation Act, 1923
  12. The Employment Exchange (Compulsory Notification of Vacancies) Act, 1959
  13. The Children (Pledging of Labour) Act 1938
  14. The Bonded Labour System (Abolition) Act, 1976
  15. The Beedi and Cigar Workers (Conditions of Employment) Act, 1966


Also Read: Labour laws enacted and enforced by the various State Governments which apply to
respective States.